Quick Links

Useful Links

John Bamford Primary

Mental Health and Wellbeing

At The John Bamford Primary School, we aim to promote positive mental health for all members of the school community, including; staff, pupils, parents and carers.

Our vision is that The John Bamford Primary School is a place everyone loves to be. Wellbeing is a big part of this as it affects how we relate, interact, learn and grow.

Ultimately, the day-to-day ethos and approach we have in our school has an impact on the wellbeing of all of us, therefore, we strive to promote wellbeing through some of our strategic goals. The goals that promote wellbeing are; that we are the best we can be, we know how to seek support, and that we take care of ourselves and each other.

At our school we:

  • Help children, parents/carers and staff to understand their emotions and feelings better                             
  • Help children, parents/carers and staff feel comfortable sharing any concerns or worries
  • Help children, parents/carers and staff socially to form and maintain relationships
  • Promote self-esteem and ensure children, parents/carers and staff know that they count and are valued
  • Encourage children, parents/carers and staff to be confident and ‘dare to be different’
  • Help children, parents/carers and staff to develop emotional resilience and to manage setbacks 

Supporting the mental health and wellbeing of all those in our community is vital to ensuring that we function successfully as a school and therefore, each Wednesday, we will share a top tip or quote via the Class Dojo whole school page and the school website. Parents and staff are also invited to join the Parent or Staff Wellbeing Strategy Teams and are encouraged to speak to Ms Wall if they wish to do so.

In the first instance, would always advise you to talk to your child’s class teacher about their wellbeing; they may seek advice from:                                                      

 

 

Mrs Ferguson

 

Mrs Hamnett  

 

Ms Wall 

 

Mrs Bevan-Phillips

 

Following our success during audit, we have been awarded The Wellbeing Award for Schools, achieving a national standard for positive Mental Health and Emotional Wellbeing. 

We hold great pride in receiving the certificate below. 

The Wellbeing Award for Schools

Wellbeing Award Report 

Suicide Awareness & Prevent - Focus on Children and Young People Certificate

 

Please click the links below to view our Wellbeing Wednesday information.

Wellbeing Wednesday 12the June 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 5th June 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 22nd May 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 15th May 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 8th May 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 1st May 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 24th April 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 17th April 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 10th April 2024

Previous Wellbeing Wednesdays

Wellbeing Wednesday 20th March 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 13th March 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 6th March 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 28th February 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 21st February 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 7th February 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 31st January 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 24th January 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 17th January 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 10th January 2024

Wellbeing Wednesday 20th December 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 13th December 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 6th December 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 22nd November 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 15th November 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 8th November 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 25th October 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 18th October 2023

Forest Wellbeing Journal - Linked to Wellbeing Wednesday 11th October 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 11th October 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 4th October 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 27th September 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 20th September 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 13th September 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 6th September 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 19th July 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 12th July 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 5th July 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 28th June 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 21st June 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 14th June 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 7th June 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 24th May 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 17th May 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 10th May 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 3rd May 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 26th April 2023

Mindfulness Challenge Cards 26th April 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 19th April 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 29th March 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 22nd March 2023

Wellbeing Wednesday 15th March 2023

Helpful Links

Please click the link below for advice on the following:

Young People's Mental Health Crisis Support and Signposting Internal Services

Young People's Mental Health Crisis Support and Signposting External Agencies

Text Chat Support for Young People

Text Chat Support for Parents

School Nurse virtual clinic young people

Virtual school nurse clinic parents

Action for Neurodiversity

Families’ Health and Wellbeing Service Referral Form

Families’ Health and Wellbeing Service Community Drop-in Rugeley Community Centre

Families’ Health and Wellbeing Service Community Drop-in Rugeley Community Centre

CDOP Child Death Prevention Newsletter - Child Safety Week June 2024

MHST Self-referral for school holidays

 

If you need support, please find links to useful services: 

 

Text SHOUT to 85258 

Little Book of Coping Skills

A poignant video of text messages between two friends.

Contact the School Nurse on 07520 615721 

Contact Families’ Health and Wellbeing Service on 07520 615722 

Support Services South

Support Services North